Ballots set for spring election

© Jgroup | – Submitting A Vote Photo

After the fire and fury of the November election, the 2017 spring election looks to be quiet, at least in Kewaunee County.

Only a handful of races will be on local ballots. Almost all of the city, village, town and school elected officials are running without opposition. Where there are races, one or more incumbents chose not to run again.

Statewide, Incumbent Tony Evers has two challengers, Lowell Holtz of Beloit and John Humphries of Mount Horeb. A Feb. 21 primary election will reduce the field to two.

Wisconsin Supreme Court Justice Annette Ziegler is unopposed for re-election to a 10-year term.

Candidates had until 5 p.m. Jan. 3 to submit nomination papers to municipal clerks.

The local ballots in Kewaunee County shape up as follows.


Algoma: There are no challenges for four seats on the City Council – District 1 (Bruce J. Charles), District 2 (Jacque Wiese), District 3 (Mitchell Groessl), or District 4 (Lee Dachelet).

Kewaunee: No one submitted papers to run for the 2nd Aldermanic District seat on the City Council. Incumbent Aldermen Arthur Schiller (District 1), John T. Griffith (District 3), and David Kuehl (District 4) are unopposed.


Algoma: Two unincorporated representatives are unopposed for re-election – Priscilla Swoboda and David Wessel.

Kewaunee: City representative Brian J. Vogeltanz, and unincorporated representatives Paul Jirtle and John T. Pagel are unopposed.

Luxemburg-Casco: The three incumbent members at large are the only candidates: Jodi Falk, Timothy J. Kinnard, and Chris L. Worachek.

Denmark (2): Incumbent Paula Larsen is on the ballot with Mark D. Heim Sr., Joe Terrien, and Katie Rabenhorst. Incumbent Craig Satori is not running for re-election. The district also plans two referendum questions.


Casco: Village President Kelly Pinchart and Trustees Troy Alsteen and Dennis Cravillion are unopposed.

Luxemburg: Village President Ken Tebon is unopposed, but there are four candidates for three positions on the Village Board: Jason Carviou, incumbent Jack Seidl, Lori L. Hurley, and Michael Bonk. Incumbent Trustees Suzanne Leist and Michelle Seidl are not running.


Ahnapee: Town Clerk LaVerle Koenig is not running for re-election, and Sharon M. Grosbier is the only candidate to succeed her. Also unopposed for re-election are Town Chairman Gerald Gary Paape, Supervisors Thomas Stoller and Kenneth Draves and Treasurer Mary C. Bohman.

Carlton: Running for re-election without opposition are Town Chairman David Hardtke, Supervisors Steve Tadisch and Kenneth Paplham, Clerk Linda Sinkula, Treasurer Pat Wotachek, and Constable Jason Walechka.

Casco: Terrie Gabriel is unopposed to succeed Jennifer Delebreau as town clerk. Running unopposed for re-election are Town Chairman Joseph Lukes, Supervisors Perry Pavlat and Barry Fenendael and Treasurer Pamela Nuthals.

Franklin: Running unopposed for new terms are Town Chairman Richard Wochos, Supervisors Katie Duckart and James E. Wacek, Clerk Joan Raisleger, and Treasurer Judy A. Kunesh.

Lincoln: All incumbents unopposed – Town Chairman Cory Cochart, Supervisors Nick Cochart and Jesse Jerabek, Clerk Mary Ann Salmon, Treasurer Tim Strnad, and Assessor Joseph Jerabek.

Luxemburg: Incumbents are unopposed – Town Chairman David W. Barrett, Supervisors Linda Jonet and Leonard Wachal, Clerk Marilyn M. Barrett, and Treasurer Gerald Zellner.

Montpelier: Steven Doell and Lisa M. Webster are running to succeed Treasurer Sandra Ledvina. Shaefer Oshefsky is unopposed to succeed Town Clerk Mark Wessely, who is not running. Unopposed for re-election are Town chairman Scott Jahnke, Supervisors Kevin Ferry and Jon Webster, and Constable David Van Deurzen.

Pierce: All incumbents unopposed – Town Chairman Brian J. Paplham, Supervisors and Kurt Burmeister and Mitchell Stauber, Clerk Samantha Stauber, Treasurer Linda Gretz, and Constable Jeannie Pederson.

Red River: All incumbents are unopposed – Town Chairman Michael J. Sampo, Supervisors Gene Dalebroux and Charles Kinnard, Clerk Eric B. Corroy, Treasurer Ken Bouchonville, and Constable Mark H. Lefebvre.

West Kewaunee: Unopposed for re-election are Town Chairman Tom Kruse, Supervisors Arnold J. Van Goethem and Robert Karl, Clerk Bonnie Purzner, and Treasurer Mary Bertrand.